Solarstone and Giuseppe Ottaviani - Solarstone presents Pure Trance 2

Black Hole

Share this release

Over the last 24 months the #PureTrance movement has swept through the world of electronic music, driven by its flag-bearer, Solarstone. First outlined by its debut mix-comp (still in Beatport’s bestseller chart one year after its release), Solarstone’s now ready to bring its essence into even clearer focus. Across 2 discs and 34, often exclusive or purpose-built tracks, Pure Mixes and Retouches, Solarstone and fellow Pure practitioner Giuseppe Ottaviani serve a future-proofed release that’ll be as relevant in your collection in 10 years time as it is today. With music from trance bedrock like Aly & Fila, John O’Callaghan, Darren Tate, Alex M.O.R.P.H., M.I.K.E. and Sied van Riel, it also features new rising talent including Suncatcher, Adam Nickey, Sneijder, Walsh & McAuley and Driftmoon. Standby to receive your trance refined, clarified and 100% Pure!

Solarstone sets the mix’s early atmosphere with some rolling gear from the harmonic end of Pure’s spectrum. The faraway tones of Adam Nickey’s ‘Perfect Destiny’, the trance-transcendent float of Aerium’s ‘Horizon’ and flute-like drift of Elfsong’s ‘Seldarine’’ form its opening minutes. Building the bridge skyward, Solarstone’s towering Pure rebuild of M.O.R.P.H.s ‘Eternal Flame’ and his retouch of M.I.K.E.’s ‘Respire’ open up the euphoric throttle.

Reaching its halfway point, Solarstone bomb-drops the deliciously ominous tones of his most recent Pure Mix of ‘Love Theme From Blade Runner’. Given sanction by the house of Vangelis’, alongside the Pure Mix of Zoo Brazil’s ‘Hearts A Legend’, it lends darker tones to the mix.

On the release of the second album, Richard says: “Almost exactly a year ago we released Solarstone presents Pure Trance - Volume 1, an album which marked the beginning of a journey of rebirth and rediscovery. Since its release we have taken the Pure Trance message global with a host of Pure Trance Events that have not only invigorated but restored a sense of belonging to a growing & passionate audience worldwide, and finally the scene is sitting up & taking notice: Pure Trance music is alive & kicking, and right now on fire! I am proud to present this second compilation of brilliant music for all lovers of the sound of Pure Trance “

Arriving at its summit, Richard enters mash-up-mode, brilliantly splicing Ferry Corsten & Betsie Larkin’s ‘Made of Love’ and John O’Callaghan’s ‘I’ll Follow’ and further uniting Ben Lost’s timeless ‘Jump The Next Train’ over Franz’s ‘Emerge’.

“Tough to pull off, after the highly impressive ‘Pure Trance Vol.1’, but against the odds, this new outing is a huge step up again - 10/10, Album of the Month” – MIXMAG

Italy’s Giuseppe Ottaviani comes off his spot, boxing clever with an overtura of toughened trance logistics. He interplays the tracks of nu-bloods like John Mash, Colonial One and Andrea Mazza with those of Darren Tate, Sied van Riel and other trance establishment.

Giuseppe says: “over the last year I’ve played at Solarstone’s Pure Trance events in many different corners of the world. To have the chance to capture, in some way, their unique atmosphere as part of a mix compilation has been wonderful! I hope you have as much fun listening and dancing to my mix, as I had compiling mixing it!”

Marking Agnelli & Nelson’s remix-return, Ottaviani (or “the Grand Master of Energy”, as MIXMAG recently christened him!) charges the mix’s midpoint with a new version of Andain’s ‘You Once Told Me’. Whipping Sneijder’s rebuild of his Aly & Fila collab ‘Brilliant People’, James Dymond’s ‘Carbon’, Will Atkinson’s ‘Hemosa’ and others together, Giuseppe brings about the release’s final perfect sound-storm.

Track list

  • 01
    Perfect Destiny (Winkee Remix Reconstruction)
    By Adam Nickey
  • 02
    Horizons (Solarstone Retouch)
    By Aerium
  • 03
    Lovers (Pure Mix Edit)
    By Solarstone featuring Lemon
  • 04
    Seldarine (Original Mix Edit)
    By Elfsong
  • 05
    Eternal Flame (Solarstone Pure Radio Edit)
    By Alex M.O.R.P.H.
  • 06
    Ashgrove Throne (Original Mix Edit)
    By Walsh & McAuley
  • 07
    Respire (Solarstone Retouch Edit)
    By M.I.K.E.
  • 08
    Heart's a Legend (Solarstone Pure Mix)
    By Zoo Brazil featuring Philip
  • 09
    Love Theme from Blade Runner (Pure Mix Edit)
    By Solarstone
  • 10
    Kwiwakurra (Original Mix Edit)
    By Future Disciple
  • 11
    Howl At the Moon (Solarstone Retouch Edit)
    By Driftmoon
  • 12
    I'll Follow (Solarstone Pure Dub Retouch)
    By John O'Callaghan featuring Ria
  • 13
    Made of Love (Radio Edit)
    By Ferry Corsten featuring Betsie Larkin
  • 14
    Are We There Yet (Radio Edit)
    By Suncatcher
  • 15
    Emerge (Dreamy Remix)
    By Franz
  • 16
    By Alex Matteo
  • 17
    All I Am
    By Darren Tate
  • 18
    8 Decades (Original Mix Edit)
    By Sied van Riel
  • 19
    By Colonial One
  • 20
    This Perfect Night (Original Mix Edit)
    By Andrea Mazza featuring Hysteria!
  • 21
    Metamorphosi (Original Mix Edit)
    By John Mash
  • 22
    French Kiss
    By Alexandre Bergheau & Alex Wackii
  • 23
    Scent of My Dreams
    By Marynus Revert
  • 24
    You Once Told Me (Agnelli & Nelson Remix)
    By Andain
  • 25
    Always a Moment
    By Stuart Millar
  • 26
    Big Sky (Radio Edit)
    By John O'Callaghan featuring Audrey Gallagher
  • 27
    I Believe (Giuseppe Ottaviani Remix)
    By John O'Callaghan featuring Erica Curran
  • 28
    Brilliant People (Sneijder Remix Edit)
    By Giuseppe Ottaviani and Aly & Fila
  • 29
    Waiting On Someday (OnAir Mix Edit)
    By Giuseppe Ottaviani featuring Vitamin B
  • 30
    By James Dymond
  • 31
    Lost & Found
    By Joey Chilson
  • 32
    By AERO 21
  • 33
    By Will Atkinson
  • 34
    Solarstone presents Pure Trance 2 Mix 1
    By Solarstone
  • 35
    Solarstone presents Pure Trance 2 Mix 2
    By Giuseppe Ottaviani