Moonbeam presents debut mix compilation “Space Odyssey: Venus”


Ever since they stormed DJ Mag’s Top100 poll last year, brothers Pavel and Vitaly Khavleev a.k.a. Moonbeam can count themselves amongst the biggest music exponents of Russian dance music. The release of their reputation defining first album “Around The World” harvested the hit singles “Song For A Girl”, “Breathless” and “Look Around”. The two now continue to widen their sonic horizon for their debut mix compilation “Space Odyssey” on Black Hole Recordings with a fabric of different styles.

Initially it was superstar DJ and producer Tiësto who reserved Moonbeam’s 2007 single “See The Difference Inside” for his acclaimed “In Search Of Sunrise 6, Ibiza”. He later on did the same with Moonbeam’s remix of Rachael Star’s “To Forever” for the 7th, Asia themed volume of the series. Other artists like Cosmic Gate, Mr Sam, Rank1 and Armin van Buuren also secured Moonbeam singles for their compilations. With these early achievements in mind it was only a logical result that the two Russians got signed to Black Hole Recordings for the release of their first album and now, naturally, their debut mix compilation entitled “Space Odyssey”. The brothers obviously accepted the assignment enthusiastically.

Moonbeam’s “Space Odyssey” makes it clear that the boys want to break the boundaries between techno, trance and electronica. From their own hit singles they move to solid, atmospheric techno and smoky, charged trance sounds. And considering the entire mix, the duo clearly cares about being innovative.

With titles like “Doors Opened Inside” by Avis Fox, “Guru” by Rosie Romero”, “Morning Light” by Nick Chagall, “Light Beam” by Sound Quelle, “I Believe In Love” by Lion Love & Kochnev and a pumping Robbie Rivera remix of Deadmau5’s “Clockwork”, the true aficionados know what to expect: tightly programmed techno, deep trance melodies, ripping synths and outrageous vocals. And besides Memento’s brilliant remake of Depeche Mode’s “Enjoy The Silence” we of course also find tracks and remixes by the Moonbeam guys themselves. Many will be nicely surprised to check out the Moonbeam remix of Tiësto’s “Love Comes Again”.

“Space Odyssey” tells the story of urging rhythms, modulated bass lines and Moonbeam’s affection for melody and somewhat eerie vocals; exactly as in their outstanding live performances.   
Track list:

01. Avis Vox - Doors Opened Inside (Special Venus Mix)
02. Tiësto featuring BT - Love Comes Again (Moonbeam Remix)
03. Nic Chagall - Morning Light (Remixed)
04. Marsbeing & Ange - Perfect Moon (Original Mix)
05. Sound Quelle - Light Beam
06. Moonbeam feat. Avis Vox - Star Way (Club Mix)
07. FreddySlav - Bewitching Decline
08. Memento feat. Ken Spector - Enjoy The Silence (Original Mix)
09. Exclusiv J - After Midnight (Original Mix)
10. Plato with Jette Von Roth - The Ashes Of Our Dreams (Mossy Remix)
11. Lion Love & Kochnev - I Believe In Love
12. Spartaque - Raise Me
01. Andrew Salsano & JF Sebastian featuring Jayn Hanna - Walking On Fire (Original Mix)
02. J-Soul - Cry Of Clouds
03. Moonbeam ft. Blackfeel Wite - Song For A Girl (Moguai Remix)
04. Rosie Romero - Guru (Original Mix)
05. The Crystal Method - Sine Language (Moonbeam Remix)
06. E-Spectro - I Can Describe (DP-6 Remix)
07. Deadmau5 - Clockwork (Robbie Rivera Juicy Ibiza Edit)
08. Gianluigi Di Russo - Sound Wave (Dark Vocal Mix)
09. Freska - Jolly Is Upstairs
10. Shades Of Gray - I Want Some More
11. Tvardovsky - Above Zero
12. Steve Kaetzel - Aurora

The physical CD can be bought at the Black Hole Online Shop and

The album can be purchased as digital download through these portals: iTunes, Beatport, Dance-Tunes, Trackitdown or the portal of your personal preference.

Share this article