Johan Gielen vs. Tetsuya - Skyscraper

Black Hole

Share this release

Black Hole 343-0
Johan Gielen vs. Tetsuya - Skyscraper EP
1.Skyscraper // 2.Mirage

Johan Gielen presents a brand new EP featuring the tracks "Skyscraper" and "Mirage" on our Black Hole imprint.

For this new release, Johan Gielen joined forces with the well known Japanese DJ/Producer Tetsuya. Tetsuya is the resident DJ at Tokyo's most famous and precious club called "Velfarre". Johan Gielen was resident in the club from 1995 to 1997 and built a strong friendship with Tetsuya. After more than 15 years, their bond is stronger than ever. The plan to produce an EP together was made a while ago and last month Johan Gielen went to Japan for a week to meet up with Tetsuya for the Skyscraper EP sessions. After a few days and nights of hard work in Tetsuya's studio in Tokyo the two DJ/producers delivered the titles that now feature in this promo.

One thing is clear: for this EP Johan Gielen steps away from his trance aura and presents two titles that are definitely clubby and funky, with a strong progressive feel to it. It already begins when "Skyscraper" kicks in. The beats are supported by a fabulous bass line that creates an infectious, big city groove. For those behind the decks, it will only be a logical step to continue their live mix with the second track from the EP, called "Mirage". Once again we enjoy crisp beats over a fat bass line, but this time there's definitely more of a progressive sound going on. Subtly the track moves towards a superb hands in the air break with some lovely synth hammering,  only to continue with even more power. Johan Gielen once again surprises friend and foe with another floor filler, so make sure to add this one to your track list!

Supported by:
Roger Sanchez, Markus Schulz, Tom Novy, Kenneth Thomas, Matt Darey, Mark Eteson, Steve Anderson, Ronski Speed, Ernesto vs. Bastian, Dave Seaman, M.I.K.E., Dimitri Kechagias, Mat Zo, T.O.M., Nino Anthony, Eelke Kleijn, Lange, Eddie Sender, Space RockerZ, Blake Jarrell, Kid Massive, Michael Paterson, DJ Sasj, Steve Helstrip (The Thrillseekers), Miss Nine, Paul Mendez, Matt Cerf, Mr Sam, Dj Danjo, Giuseppe Ottaviani, Alex Kidd, Mark Pledger, Bart Claessen, tyDi, Stuart Millar, Kristina Sky, Simon Budziszyn, Flash Brothers, William Daniel (Tillate Magazine), Jochen Miller, DJ SL, Artento Divini, Tempo Giusto, Tom Cloud

Track list

  • 01
    By Johan Gielen vs. Tetsuya
  • 02
    By Johan Gielen vs. Tetsuya